About Us

The Hamilton County Schools Fund for Excellence was established in 1988 for the purpose of improving the quality of education within the Hamilton County public school system by providing support in the form of fundraising opportunities, scholarships, recognition awards, and other charitable means. 

Classified as a 501(c)3 non-profit organization, the Fund for Excellence is governed by a board of directors comprised of retired educators, community leaders, and business executives. A staff of two oversees daily operations of the foundation.

Board and Staff


President – Sherrie Ford, Hamilton County Department of Education
Vice President – Dr. Steve Highlander, educator
Immediate Past President – Lebron Sterchi, retired educator
Treasurer – Sandy Chambers, True North Advisors / Raymond James Financial Services
At-Large –  Mike Reed, business consultant


Bill Brooks, LTC, Hamilton County Schools JROTC
Kathy Clark, Hamilton County Juvenile Court
Ron Crawford, Dairy Queen Franchisee
Christy Highfield, Hamilton County Council of PTAs president*
Darren Hodges, Chattanooga Coca-Cola Bottling
Sonja Millard, Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices / Realty Center
Tucker McClendon, Hamilton County Board of Education Chairman*
Mattie Moran, Chattanooga Area Chamber of Commerce retiree
Jeanette Omarkhail, Hamilton County Education Association president*
Dr. Justin Roberston, Hamilton County Schools Superintendent*
Sharon Vandagriff, retired educator

* ex officio


Kris Humber – Executive Director
Beverly Conway – Bookeeper/Event Planner